CIDA 5k – 21:17

1 Apr

So this was a race that was more of a training run for me. I did my usual track workouts and mileage the week prior but thought that it would still be nice to get out and run and hopefully do a better job of pacing. That has been one of my main focuses during track workouts is to learn how to pace instead of going out too fast or trying to make up time at the end. Going out too fast ends in catastrophe for me as I learned at a 5k race 3 weeks ago. I race best running negative splits – so that was the game plan for this race.

I had to get up early because I still needed to pack my bag and this race is Peoria, which is about a 45 minute drive. I met up with a few guys that were also racing – Seanan, Tod, and Chris. 3 out of the 4 of us still needed to register when we got there – so we were a little pressed for time. After registering we headed out for a warm up run… it was COLD and VERY windy. We figured out that the first 1.5 miles of the race were directly into the wind making it very difficult to keep any kind of fast pace. I got in 2 miles warm up and then realized I need to use the restroom so I figured it was worth not running another mile to be able to go wait in line. It was super cold so we were all debating on whether to wear shorts or tights and long sleeve or short, arm sleeves, headbands… we were a mess! I decided to go with tights, a tank, arm warmers and gloves. I didn’t want to take the chance of my muscles getting cold by wearing shorts – turns out I chose the perfect outfit.

Before long, we were off – running straight into the wind. I have to admit it was really hard holding back and making myself go slow. I just didn’t think it would be smart to go out at a normal 5k pace when we were running directly into the wind – made sense to me to save that energy for the 1.5 miles back. There was one girl in front of me and only a handful of men. The girl was only a few steps ahead and I could tell by her breathing that she was pushing pretty hard. So when we turned the corner to head back towards the finish I sped up quite a bit and passed her. My first mile was 7:11 and I negative split the next two miles feeling very comfortable with my race. Once we got closer to the finish the volunteer girls yelled “First Girl!!” – something I’ve NEVER heard yelled at me before. I looked around and there wasn’t really anyone behind me or in front of me so I just cruised into the finish, realizing that I was running this race as training and that pushing for a PR wouldn’t be smart (I am running a race Sunday that is more important). I ended up with first female overall and 13th overall!! My coach Ryan won Overall Male so that was pretty cool as well. I ran a 21:17 – not a PR or even close to my goal 5k time, but I accomplished what I was wanting to which was to hold back the first mile and run a smart race. It taught me a lot!

Time:           21:17

F AG:           1/22

F OA:            1/?

Overall:        13/233

CIDA 5k - Overall Female Finisher

Lana, Seth, Me, Tod, Stacey, Seanan, Ryan, and Chris

4 Responses to “CIDA 5k – 21:17”

  1. Brit April 5, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    Nice race lady! (Even though you weren’t really racing.)

    • Ritter April 5, 2011 at 2:35 pm #

      Thanks! Its odd how sometimes when you aren’t planning to run well, you end up doing ok 🙂

  2. carlos pinduisaca October 3, 2011 at 6:17 pm #

    beautiful race that you run at least if it’s sport is good for your army to your body and thus give him more years of life for yourself ….. feliciones and is so very

  3. carlos pinduisaca October 3, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    for my opinion I think it is good that you try running and jogging to have a good health tun ……

Leave a Reply

