CCHS Saints Alive 5k

2 May

Should have posted this a while ago but I’ve been really busy with training. This race was the windiest race I’ve ever ran, but still fun nonetheless. Since I ran a 5k the morning prior I didn’t even do a warm up from fear of wasting energy trying to battle the 45 mph winds. Anywho, I chatted with my friends at the starting line and told them about my race earlier in the morning. My friend Seanan told me to just follow him for the race so that hopefully I could at least draft – this also meant that I’d have to run a little faster than normal. The first mile went great – 6:40 – then I just got tired. Not fueling between the morning race and this race really took a toll on me while I was trying to fight the winds. The next 2 miles I just took easy, knowing the wind was eventually going to win. I held on to the first female spot until about .5 miles left when 2 girls passed me. At that point I was in the “I don’t care at all” mode and just wanted to finish the race. Somehow though I found an extra burst of energy coming around the track at the finish to pass the 2nd place woman and come close to 1st place. I was happy with my finish.

Time:                         22:35 (7:18)

AG:                             1/7

Female OA:              2/100

Overall:                      21/225

Waiting for the Start

Seanan and I

 

Trying to catch 1st place

 

Almost there

 

All Done!!! 2nd place Female OA

 
 
 
2 Responses to “CCHS Saints Alive 5k”

  1. Hollie @ Lolzthatswim(andRun) May 2, 2011 at 6:30 pm #

    Awesome job that looks like so much fun! Did it end on the track?

    • Ritter May 3, 2011 at 3:15 pm #

      Yes it did! We have several races around here that end on the track, they are my favorite!

Leave a Reply

